Cosmological Structure Formation & the CMB

Location: 
R W James 2.19 [Postponed until 25/9]
Date: 
Repeats every week until Wed Dec 11 2013 .
Wed, 24/07/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 31/07/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 07/08/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 14/08/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 21/08/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 28/08/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 04/09/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 11/09/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 18/09/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 25/09/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 02/10/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 09/10/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 16/10/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 23/10/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 30/10/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 06/11/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 13/11/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 20/11/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 27/11/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 04/12/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Date: 
Wed, 11/12/2013 - 10:00 - 12:00
Speaker: 
Chris Clarkson

1. Review of the background FLRW model
* Cosmic evolution, CMB & structure overview

2. Structure formation in the linear regime
* Newtonian description and scaling phenomenology
* Relativistic perturbation theory - potential - velocity - density
* Evolution during radiation and matter eras
* Power spectra, initial conditions and transfer functions
* Other modes - vectors and gravitational waves

3. The cosmic microwave background
* Last scattering - temperature and spectrum
* Anisotropies - Sachs Wolfe description
* Kinetic theory
* Angular power spectra
* Cosmological constraints

4. Other topics - Weak lensing - Baryon acoustic oscillations ...