Time: Every Thursday from 12:30 to 13:30.
Venue: SAAO Auditorium, SAAO
Contact: Mellony Spark (mellony [at] saao [dot] ac [dot] za).

Datesort icon Time Speaker Title
Tue 24 May 2016 15:00 Jill Rathborne (CSIRO) Star formation in the Milky Way and implications for other galaxies
Thu 19 May 2016 11:00 Leon Koopmans (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute) The LOFAR Reionization Key Science Project: Current Status
Thu 12 May 2016 11:00 Lucia Marchetti (Open University Milton Keynes (UK)) The SALT Gravitational Lensing Legacy Project
Thu 5 May 2016 11:00 Jonathan Zwart (UWC/UCT) Unconventional Radio Astronomy
Thu 21 Apr 2016 11:00 Prof. Yong-Ik Byun (Yonsei University, Seoul, South Korea) A New Approach for Wide Field Time Series Photometry: applications for variable stars and asteroids
Thu 14 Apr 2016 11:00 Vanessa McBride (UCT & SAAO) Science with MeerLICHT
Thu 17 Mar 2016 11:00 Ralf-Juergen Dettmar (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) Ionized gaseous halos in starforming disk galaxies – ionization and kinematics
Thu 4 Feb 2016 11:00 Yuki Moritani (Kavli IPMU, Japan) Revealing the binary interaction in the puzzling gamma-ray binary HESS J0632+05
Thu 26 Nov 2015 11:00 Prof. Dan McIntosh (Missouri-UMKC) Galactic Capitalism: the Buildup of a Bimodal Galaxy Population
Thu 12 Nov 2015 11:00 Petri Vaisanen (SAAO) SALT news
Mon 14 Sep 2015 15:00 Jay M. Pasachoff (Williams College (Williamstown, Mass.) and Caltech (Pasadena, Cal.)) The Solar Corona at Recent Total Solar Eclipses
Thu 16 Jul 2015 11:00 Eli Grant (OAD - Office of Astronomy for Development) Maximising Astronomy’s Human Capacity Development Impact
Thu 9 Jul 2015 11:00 Sourav Mitra (CET Fellow, UWC) Equilibrium Model for Galaxy Evolution
Thu 18 Jun 2015 11:00 Russell Johnston The evolving relation between star-formation rate and stellar mass in the VIDEO Survey since z = 3
Wed 17 Jun 2015 11:00 Professor K.P. Singh (Tata Institute for Fundamental Research cience programs with ASTROSAT
Thu 11 Jun 2015 11:00 Tim-Oliver Husser Resolving stellar populations with MUSE
Thu 28 May 2015 11:00 Michele Trenti (University of Melbourne, Australia) Galaxies at Cosmic Dawn
Thu 14 May 2015 11:00 Ram Venuogopal Using Remote Telescopes to Expand Astronomy Access in Universities
Thu 7 May 2015 11:00 Ian Glass Proxima Centauri – 100 years since its discovery
Fri 27 Mar 2015 12:00 C.S. Stalin Narrow line Seyfert 1 galaxies: a new class of gamma-ray emitting AGN