Theoretical Cosmology (Full year)

Location: 
M208 - Wednesdays and Fridays at 12pm
Date: 
Repeats every day every Wednesday and every Friday until Fri May 31 2013 .
Wed, 20/02/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 22/02/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 27/02/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 06/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 08/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 13/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 15/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 20/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 22/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 27/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 29/03/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 03/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 05/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 10/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 12/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 17/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 19/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 24/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 26/04/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 01/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 03/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 08/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 10/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 15/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 17/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 22/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 24/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Wed, 29/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Date: 
Fri, 31/05/2013 - 12:00 - 13:00
Speaker: 
Chris Clarkson, Peter Dunsby and Amanda Weltman

This full year course will offer an introduction to modern theoretical cosmology.

Semester 1: Amanda Weltman and Peter Dunsby

* Review of General Relativity
* Introduction to scalar field theory
* The standard cosmological model:
* The homogeneous universe
* The standard hot Big Bang model
* Distances and light propagation
* Introduction to inflation

Semester 2: Chris Clarkson

* The evolution of structure in the universe
* Perturbation theory, Newtonian and relativistic
* Transfer functions and power spectra
* The cosmic microwave background
* Inflation
* Dark matter and gravitational lensing
* Dark energy