Symmetries in Physics [QGaSLAB: "Topics in String Theory" series]

Location: 
M207
Date: 
Repeats every week until Tue May 28 2013 .
Tue, 19/03/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 26/03/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 02/04/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 09/04/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 16/04/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 23/04/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 30/04/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 07/05/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 14/05/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 21/05/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Date: 
Tue, 28/05/2013 - 14:00 - 15:00
Speaker: 
Jeff Murugan

Outline:
- The mathematics of special relativity: the Lorentz & Poincaré groups;
- SL(2,C) and spinors;
- Spinor calculus 101: Dirac and Majorana;
- Extending spacetime: going around no-go theorems with graded algebras;
- The super-Poincaré algebra and its representations;
- The first supermodel: the Wess-Zumino model;
- From space to superspace.

For more info/updates, check the QGaSLAB website: https://sites.google.com/site/qgaslab/